One Day Wandering in San Francisco

I had but a few hours to explore the iconic California city of San Francisco before heading inland to Wente Vineyards for wedding festivities. As we drove across the Bay Bridge, I caught my first glimpse of the city. As with traveling to any new city or town, I could feel the excitement wash over me.

As we drove through downtown looking for parking and taking in the scenery, I was decided. I liked this place already. A new city makes me feel alive.

We spent the day starting at Fisherman’s Wharf and worked our way along the water toward the bridge. Its towering red design calling us nearer in the pursuit of the perfect picture. Of course we stopped along the way at Ghirardelli Square as the aroma of chocolate filled the air. At this point, I certainly couldn’t contain my excitement. Chocolate is my favorite.

After our noses danced around the decadent area, our walking continued. Toward the bridge we went. We walked through Fort Mason and down to the water. We watched as the prominent landmark grew bigger in our quest. When we reached Crissy Field East Beach, our legs started to waver and time was slipping away.  It was clear we needed to turn around but not before some pictures of course.

Travel Blog USA
Palace of Fine Arts

As we began our way back, the Palace of Fine Arts caught our eyes. We wandered through the area amazed by its immensity and antiquity in an otherwise modern city.

With the hours falling away and a race against the clock, we had one more stop we wanted to make before returning to our car. Lombard Street. So through the city we walked and walked and walked. At this point, I was hot, tired, and my legs were aching. My shoe had became a casualty among the hills, but we could not slow down. As we neared steep steps, my heart dropped momentarily.
Travel San FranciscoWe took a deep breath and raced up the steps. Better to just get it over with. As we reached the top, we gazed out at the view and caught our breath. Just a touch more to go. One more unbearable hill and we made it. We watch the few daring cars weave their way down Lombard Street as the wind cooled our sweating faces.

Another look at the clock and we had to go. We carefully treaded down the hills to our car eager to become one of those daring Lombard Street vehicles. We had just enough time to wind our way down the road before heading off to the vineyard.

Like the city itself, our day may have had a few ups and down, but San Francisco left me wanting more. Till next time.

 

 

 

One thought on “One Day Wandering in San Francisco

Leave a comment